Mo Ibrahim on Afro-optimism

29 Nov

“Africa was perceived, it still is to some extent, as a place which is very difficult to do business in. I don’t share that view. Africa has 53 countries. And you find that three or four countries in these 53 are dominating the news.

There is, I think, a problem with image for Africa. Whenever there is a problem with image, whenever there is a gap between reality and perception, there is a good business there. I’m an African. If I don’t do it, who else will do it?”

Mo Ibrahim– Sudanese philanthropist and telecom mogul.

3 Responses to “Mo Ibrahim on Afro-optimism”

  1. Eu November 29, 2008 at 8:09 am #

    Mo Ibrahim made a fortune in the telecoms business in Africa.

    So did / do many other European and North American non-Africans.

    The difference is that he believes in Africa the continent, Africa the resources, and most importantly Africa the people.

    I guess it takes one to know one.

  2. kizzie December 8, 2008 at 2:28 am #

    I love Mo. Ibrahim! I’m such an optimist when it comes to Africa, I really believe in its ability to rise up and become a powerhouse.

  3. Haythum A. Osman February 13, 2009 at 4:11 pm #

    I do not really knew the guy, but let me tell you something from my experience; to do business in Africa need a great skills in corruption more than any one can imagine.
    In telecommunication, the demand in Africa is huge since most countries lake land lines and most of them are very big in area. Less
    I do believe in Africa, but the mentality of its people -specially governments- needs more work.

Leave a comment