Goodbye Finals, Hello London!

19 Dec

I am finally and thankfully done with a brutal week dubbed finals week by people who knew that this is indeed “The Final Week” in many people’s lives. Even though I am sleep deprived and slightly starting to resemble the elephant man, I have survived.

In a week, I will be in London for a two week course with the University. I am beyond ecstatic about that since I have not been to London since 1998. I am a tad bit sad though that I will spend New Years–which happens to be my favorite time of year– all alone. Well not all alone, I will be with a group of people from the college of business, but their idea of fun is to drink themselves into oblivion, which is definitely not how I like to spend my time.

Anyhoo, there is a lot I am planning to do and see in London, but I would still like to hear your recommendations! So for those of you familiar with the city, let me know all about your favorite hotspots.

10 Responses to “Goodbye Finals, Hello London!”

  1. amal December 22, 2008 at 4:20 pm #

    Hey ya optimist!

    The best thing about the time of year that your travelling is that its the sale season, shops have already reduced their prices by 70% so the sale this year is going to be amazing, even if you are not a shopoholic like me, you can still stroll down oxford street and see the beautiful christmas/New years lights.

    The problem is that most places are going to be fully booked up and tickets are going to be really expensive. However, there is a lot that you can do in London that is not going to cause a hole in your pocket, like going to London Eye and taking a ride or watching all the performances around the area.

    You can also go to Covent Garden and have a coffee while watching people perform. You can go and watch comedy clubs for less than 10 pounds.

  2. sudaneseoptimist December 23, 2008 at 2:24 am #

    Comedy clubs sounds like a fantastic idea. I’m probably missing that shopaholic female gene because 70% off sales scare me since I can not tolerate shopping in crowded areas for more than 15 minutes, haha.

    Thanks for your recommendations though–I’m so excited!

  3. Mustafa December 23, 2008 at 9:32 am #

    I hope your finals went well!

    By the way, I was in London last winter during this time… and let me say just one thing:
    When walking around at night, be careful where you are, because one minute you’re surrounded by Asian restaurants and bootleg stores (Mucci Bags, anyone?), and the next thing you know… you’re on a crowded street filled with shirtless men making out

    so just be careful, and have loads of fun!
    (By the way, if you REALLY want to do me a favor, can you go to the Tottenham Hotspur F.C. team shop in North London, which is a very lovely part of town and buy me a scarf?
    http://shop.tottenhamhotspur.com/spurs08/detail.php?productid=ST30956&proddesc=THFC+Bar+Scarf&supercategory=CAT00141&branch=&wcategory=CAT00141&catdesc=&super=0350CAT00141&treecode=TRE00017

    I’ll pay you back for it, too!)

  4. AK December 30, 2008 at 1:14 pm #

    I highly recommend that you pay a visit to Hyde Park’s Speakers’ Corner. It is a must see in my opinion. Hundreds of people gather every Sunday to debate, discuss and shout at each other. I know it has been a historically important area frequented by Karl Marx and other important thinkers. When I was in London, this was my favorite place to spend my Sundays. I hope you like it and enjoy your time in London. Cheers!

  5. Drima January 5, 2009 at 10:15 pm #

    Optimist, ya 3ajeeba inti!

    Damn do I get happy every time I discover a Sudanese blog. I’ve been busy lately but now becoming active again in the blogosphere.

    You may have stumbled on my blog previously, I don’t know, but this is my first time here. I read ALL your posts AND comments.🙂

    LOVE this place and will certainly be stopping by more often.

    Have you started digging into epistemology yet? I have yet to discuss this topic with a Sudanese chick who is a philosophy junkie.

    Yalla salam.

    Catch up soon,
    A joyful Drima

  6. Faisal January 12, 2009 at 10:48 am #

    You can still post blog posts from London, you know!

  7. Monster January 16, 2009 at 2:36 am #

    Hi Leyla,

    So this is slightly off topic, and by slightly i mean majorly; I’d like to hear your perspective on the war in Gaza, not the obvious i.e. all Zionist dogs should and will burn in hell but the humanitarian aspect and lack of international involvement. Also, What’s your stance on Hamas, are they indirectly fueling the misery of their people?

  8. Amjad January 24, 2009 at 10:49 pm #

    It’s been a while since you last updated your blog. Hope everything is fine. How was London trip?

    Keep us updated.

  9. sudaneseoptimist January 28, 2009 at 6:36 am #

    Mustafa- you’re going to have to send me your address so I can send you the scarf😉

    AK- I’ve gone to Hyde Park on a Sunday before, but unfortunately, the only Sunday I had on this trip I went to Stonehenge and bath.

    Drima- Thank you for your kind words. Your blog is fantastic, but you probably know that😉
    Please stop by more often.

    In regards to your question about epistemology, well I’d say I started there but I’m more into philosophy of language now. However, I am currently reading “Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance.” By the way, why are there so many versions of that book? hmmm.

    Faisal- Whatever.

    Monster- More on that later.

    Amjad- I’m back now! London was amaaaazing!

  10. sudaneseoptimist January 28, 2009 at 6:37 am #

    Monster- by the way, my name is not Leyla. that’s just the pseudonym I use on facebook😉

Leave a Reply

