End of Hiatus

28 Jan

 

So it has been a while since I have written anything on here, and I’ve been particularly…sucky, for lack of a better word, about replying to comments/e-mails/facebook messages. For that I truly apologize. I must say however, I have been humbled, and somewhat surprised to see that my blog stats have not taken a significant hit! My readership has been steady at approximately 900 visitors per day, which is a slight decrease from the 1000+ readers I had when I used to post regularly.*

For those of you who care about where I have disappeared, well I’ve spent two weeks in London as I’ve mentioned before, but I also did a mini world tour and visited Qatar and Sudan. To be honest with you, I had the time of my life. Go ahead, be jealous. No really, please take a moment to envy me. Thanks.

 

Now that I’m back to the United States of Amreeka, I will probably resume regular blogging. But, and this is a big but, I have come to discover that my globetrotting was less of a hindrance to my blogging than the fact that my laptop stopped working shortly before I left to London. I don’t know if this is just a problem unique to me or other bloggers have suffered from such a limiting misfortune, but I can only blog from my laptop. I literally feel paralyzed when I try to type on other computers. I am writing this from a desktop computer at work and I feel that my fingers are resisting transferring my thoughts. Oh well. If I was in Sudan, I would be using my fingers for more important matters, like dipping them into a bowl of Kisra oo Waika.

 

Okay I have to go pretend to be a productive employee now. I should be purchasing a laptop sometime this week, so let’s plan on all meeting here early next week for new posts, annnnd I have pictures from Sudan as well!

 

*approximate number of blog readers might be slightly exaggerated.

8 Responses to “End of Hiatus”

  1. modafalla January 28, 2009 at 3:36 am #

    it’s about time optimist, welcome back homebback from home whichever you prefer .
    I’ve been making periodic visits to your blog to see if you’ve posted something.
    How was you mini vacation?,hope you had a blast .
    I’m one of those guys who haven’t been to sudan in like ages…what are your thoughts on the state of sudan right now since you’ve just came from over there ?,and would you say that things have gotten better or worse ?.
    Keep up the good work, i will be swinging by more often now that you back ,and again welcome back .

  2. Amjad January 28, 2009 at 3:56 am #

    London, Qatar and Sudan?

    Now I really DO envy you and feel very jealous! I was stuck here in the US during the break…

  3. Eu January 28, 2009 at 5:49 pm #

    Lol!

    Did you venture outside of Khartoum?

    Looking forward to the photos.

  4. sudaneseoptimist January 31, 2009 at 11:15 am #

    Eu- what happened to your facebook presence?

  5. Eu February 1, 2009 at 12:06 am #

    Some friends have been wondering… = )

    Too, too busy so an overhaul was in order…

    I will be back though, some day…

  6. iceycold February 4, 2009 at 5:23 pm #

    Kisra and Waika would be so amazing right now!!

  7. Ali February 9, 2009 at 11:12 am #

    Well it seems like you had a wonderful time! Is Sudan as beautiful as they say it is? Did you get that new laptop you always wanted? I do the same at work too HAHA, pretending to be productive.

  8. Name February 10, 2009 at 10:06 am #

    Oh you’re getting a new computer huh? It should definitely be a mac!!!

Leave a Reply

