Exclusive Interview with the Sudanese Ambassador to the United States

25 Mar

Fellow Sudanese blogger Drima and I were fortunate enough to get a chance to interview Dr. Akec Khoc, the Sudanese Ambassador to the United States. Dr. Akec Khoc is a former exiled physician who was has spent years treating refugees in camps in Ethiopia and has a long record in health care advocacy for the displaced and marginalized peoples of Southern Sudan.

The interview is currently exclusively available on Drima’s blog, ‘The Sudanese Thinker’. Click here to listen to it.

We encourage the mainstream media to use this interview, provided that they appropriately credit Sudanese Optimist and The Sudanese Thinker as their source.

14 Responses to “Exclusive Interview with the Sudanese Ambassador to the United States”

  1. Ponder March 26, 2009 at 12:49 am #

    It’s nice.

  2. sudaneseoptimist March 26, 2009 at 12:56 am #

    Thanks Ponder. Feel free to give us suggestions for future questions should we get a chance to interview a Sudanese official in the future.

  3. Eu March 26, 2009 at 5:05 am #

    Lame duck Ambassador who had me wondering whether he was speaking in his personal capacity as an SPLM member, or as Ambassador & Plenipotentiary of the government (of National Unity) of ‘The Republic of Sudan’ to the USA…

    That’s the price we have to pay for peace though: quotas and political appointments according to geo-ethnic origins in spite of merit – not too high a price to pay for peace by any means I guess…

  4. sudaneseoptimist March 26, 2009 at 7:55 am #

    Eu– I wondered the same thing! You know, the one question he refused to answer was “how will the ICC indictment affect the unity of North and South Sudan.”

    Go figure.

    But I wouldn’t say his appointment was in spite of merit. Well, he’s newly appointed anyway, so let’s not pass judgments too soon. But I have a good feeling about him.

  5. Rayyan March 26, 2009 at 8:27 am #

    That is pretty cool! HAA!🙂

  6. Eu March 26, 2009 at 12:58 pm #

    Ghaytu from what I heard I’m not impressed.

    There has to be commitment.

    People in such a sensitive and important role can’t have one foot in and one foot out.

  7. sudaneseoptimist March 26, 2009 at 8:29 pm #

    By the way, thanks for contributing to the questions. I asked him one of them but the other one was a bit irrelevant since it wasn’t even intended for him.

    We wanted to ask him what he thought of Mustafa Ismail’s ‘beggars’ comment but thought we should probably go easy on him.

    So pray tell, what is it that you heard that makes you feel that he’s got one foot in and one out?

  8. Eu March 27, 2009 at 1:30 am #

    Isn’t it obvious?..?!

    He hesitated in many of his answers and they simply don’t mirror the statements of his superiors at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

  9. Lanta March 27, 2009 at 8:27 am #

    Congrats on your interveiw Optimist and congrats to your friend as well. I’ve never heard of nor seen Akec Khoc but for you and your friend to get an interveiw with an Ambassador is pretty impressive.

    What I’ve leard about him thus far is that he briefs journalists on the situation in his country. Is that true? If so, can we trust his judement and the things he say? Who/what side is he really on in Sudan? Is he really an advocate for the people of Southern Sudan?
    I asks these questions because if he’s the ambassador to America for Sudan, wasn’t he oppointed by Omar al- Bashir or someone from his administration? I wouldn’t trust anyone who works for Omar. It’s this one dude that be doing television interveiws representing Sudan and he is definately on the side of Omar’s genocidal regime. I don’t know his name but his hair is sorta like an afro with grey in it.

    I listened to the entire interveiw by the way, but unfourtunately I didn’t understand much of what Mr.Khoc said due to his accsent.

    Optimist, how did you and your friend obtain an interveiw with an Ambassador? Do you think it’s possible to get an interveiw with Omar al- Bashir? Who do you and your friend want to interveiw next whether it’s possible or not?

    I hope the media use your interveiw and give you and your friend the credit you deserve but unfourtunaely, I can’t see the press using this because no one cares about Sudan or Africa peroid. The mainstream media is too focused on the economy. The only person that can turn the attention away from the economy, is Osama bin Laden. The Bush administration beleived that Sudan is hiding him out you know.

    BTW,was that your voice I heard on the tape?

    Again, Congratulations.

  10. sudaneseoptimist March 27, 2009 at 10:27 pm #

    Lanta– I have my connections🙂 and yes that was my voice.

    While I don’t think an interview with Al-Bashir is feasible, we might be able to interview his adviser, Mustafa Ismail sometime in the future.

    I just have one thing to note: The American mainstream media is too focused on the economy– not “THE mainstream media.”
    The American media has always been focused on American issues, and that was true before Bin Laden.

    Do you have any suggestions for who you’d like us to interview?

  11. Amjad March 28, 2009 at 4:37 am #

    Lanta – if you’re an Arabic speaker, check this out. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OaBh_nJDe-s

    It’s an exclusive personal interview with Omar al-Bashir done by a young Sudanese guy. Who is this guy? I don’t know, but he’s not a journalist of course. Can anyone have such a personal interview with Omar al-Bashir? Definitely not. So? This guy is probably the son of someone who is very close to Omar al-Bashir, because throughout the interview, he is showing his support for Omar al-Bashir, and I don’t think anyone can just get an interview with Omar al-Bashir. So this guy is not just “anyone.”

    This interview is hilarious. The link I provided is only the 2nd part of the interview. I don’t know why was the 1st part removed from YouTube, but I got the chance to watch it when it was uploaded a month and a half ago, and in my opinion, that was the most hilarious part, because it was the opening part, and from the start you could see what kind of support the interviewer was showing toward Omar al-Bashir. Watch this 2nd part of the interview, and you’ll see what kind of a joke it is between 3:00 and 4:00.

    Sudanese Optimist – you definitely want to check this out too, if you still haven’t.

  12. Lanta March 28, 2009 at 7:48 am #

    Optimist, what you said about the American media is unfortunately true, that’s one reason I believe 9/11 happened because we are too focused on ourselves in this country and not the world. Anyway, the interview with Omar’s adviser seems good to me. That’s like the second best thing to interviewing the vice president of Sudan.

    There’s a man whom I’ve heard about, I forgot his name, but he’s apart of the Janjaweed and it was said that he’s in the middle of this conflict in Sudan. Do you know whom I’m talking about? If so, try to get an interview with this nut. My other suggestions are Secretary of State Hillary Clinton or United States Ambassador to the United Nations Susan Rice, and Luis Ocampo.

    I wish I had your connections.

    Amjad, unfortunately I do not speak Arabic but I did look at some of the video of this Monster. I hope he will do an on camera interview with CNN, Oprah or 60 minutes with real journalist. BTW, what was said at 3:00 and 4:00?

  13. Precious November 21, 2009 at 9:23 pm #

    So you know Drima too?

    I used to be “addicted” to his blog/site since his very first days, but then, let’s say that I no longer relate or approve of 99% of his opinions and views, and I found no sense at all in reading it cause all I get is this ache in my heart everytime I read his pro-israel posts!

    However, you guys did a really good job there!

  14. sudaneseoptimist November 21, 2009 at 11:56 pm #

    It’s okay precious, now you could be addicted to my blog instead😉

Leave a Reply

