Eid Is Cancelled This Year

18 Aug

First of all Ramadan Kareem to all of you that are fasting. I hope you enjoy this Ramadan because unfortunately that’s where the party ends this year since we’re probably going to have to cancel Eid. I mean, with all the commotion we Muslims have caused in the US due to our brazen and tacky idea to build a mosque in near Ground Zero. Seriously we’re shameless. I mean YEARS after 9/11 and we want to build an Islamic Center? Rude. Just totally tasteless.

This is why, not to add insult to injury, we must cancel Eid this year, since it might fall on sept 11th (no pun intended.) I mean it’s really too soon for Muslims to be happy on that day. I mean really have we no shame?

And for those of you Muslims who are born on Sept 11th, I suggest you stop being inconsiderate and change your birthday. We don’t want to see you celebrating on that day. Especially if you have a beard. Oh and if your name is Osama or Mohammed, just die of shame now and help us save face. You know what, why don’t you change your birthday to December 25th? That is an acceptable date to receive gifts.

Oh people of US and A. You are silly. And I am glad to be in a Muslim country during Ramadan for the first time in years!

37 Responses to “Eid Is Cancelled This Year”

  1. Abu Sa'ar September 2, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

    Sorry for highjacking this thread, but Drima left me no choice🙂

    Ya Drima, I tend to agree with your views on most issues. Which is why your opposition to the Gaza blockade is puzzling. Care to explain your stance?

    Personally, I’d rather prevent a genocidal terrorist organization from acquiring weapons. Especially given their propensity for timing their terror rockets to coincide with the beginning and end of day at kindergartens.

  2. Zoxuf September 3, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    I am an American with an unfavorable view of organized religion, but I fully support the right of Muslims to build this mosque and to peacefully practice their religion.

    All the fear and hate mongering lately is rather depressing. My sympathy goes out to American Muslims who must endure increased bigotry during this troubling time.

  3. Anwar September 3, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    There is a lot of hate towards Islam in the Western world, Christian and Athiest. I hate how they slander and misinterpret the Quran, picking and distorting in just the same way terrorists do. It’s quite a shame. I don’t want to blame all Western Christians because I know they are not all like this (although there is a long historical trend) but they are shaping America’s idea of Islam as a whole and it is worrying to say the least. Atleast we have Christian champions like Ron Paul who is a libertarian republican and knows that Islamic extremists are just that and that extremism is not innate to Islam (I don’t trust his son, much unfortunately). Sadly, the Christian right is trying to tarnish all of Islam and the athiest leftists are not helping seeing that they hate all religions anyway. Islamic countries are bad enough in how they persecute Muslims who aren’t mainstream Sunni or Shi’i (i.e. heretics) in addition to persecuting each other. This Christian right is really opposing what makes America great, toleration for peaceful practice of any religion.

  4. Howie September 3, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    Huh?

    Blockade of Gaza is an absolute necessity. Geez…has HAMAS suddenly become pacificist and I missed it?

    Sorry…but the mosque at 9-11 is a horrible idea. Do they have a right to do it? Yes…absolutely. But is it correct? NO…This is not a gesture of peace and reconcilliation…it is a power move, in your face, fuck you we will do what we want move…

    I hope it backfires enormously.

  5. Abu Sa'ar September 3, 2010 at 11:21 pm #

    Howie – you’re being silly on Park51 (that’s what the Islamic cultural center in question is called). If it was on ground zero, I’d agree with you wholeheartedly. But it’s two blocks away. And Rauf (the man behind Park51) seems to be on the level.

    So yes, it is a power move – by the crazy-ass radical American right. They’re using this to whip up a shitstorm of hate and enable assorted Glenn Becks to make even more money.

    And it will backfire, but not in the way you’re thinking. It’s already backfiring on the US of A.

  6. Howie September 4, 2010 at 12:55 am #

    Abu

    Disagree with you on this one…

    There are plenty of places to build mosques…

    How about an nice synagogue down the way from….Sabra and Shatila?

  7. Zoxuf September 4, 2010 at 5:31 am #

    Howie,

    The people behind the Mosque had nothing to do with 9-11. You shouldn’t be so quick to assume the worst about their motives.

  8. Drima September 4, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    Abu Sa’ar,

    We both agree Hamas is shit, but it didn’t pop up in a vaccuum. Israel and US need to take responsibility for what happened in Gaza.

    Bush promoted elections. Hamas won. Bam, blockade, and still, your religious right wing settler crazies continue to expand their settlements on Palestinian land while your government looks the other way. That doesn’t scream “hey, we want peace and we’re going to stop taking over this land, which we already succeeded at taking over a huge chunk of…”

    Thi worsening blockade is nothing but collective punishment of a horrible kind that’s abusive and inhumane towards the Palestinians.

    How long is it going to last in the name of maintaining Israel’s “security”? Me thinks not long, and this so-called security is only an illusion in what is a militaralistic Israeli mindset. The blockade is fermenting more and more hatred.

    If it’s keeping rockets from being fired, then it’s only for now… it’s all just short-term, and I don’t support it one bit.

    Lastly, let’s get real and honest here. This isn’t just a matter of “security” but a dirty tactic meant to make the Palestinians in Gaza hate Hamas so they can be ousted and Fatah can take over instead.

    Zoxuf,

    Thanks for the sentiments! There are legit concerns over the funding, but Park51 is making everything super transparent.

    More REAL facts and info here:

    http://www.altmuslim.com/a/a/n/3866

    Howie,

    What Racoon aka Abu Sa’ar said. And Dude…

    “Do they have a right to do it? Yes…absolutely. But is it correct? NO…This is not a gesture of peace and reconcilliation…”

    PLEASE, you’re better than this!

    You’re linking “they” (Park51 and Imam Rauf) to AlQaeda? Park51 and Rauf need not offer ANY gesture of peace or reconciliation because they did NOTHING. Enough with this holding “them” (as in all those “Raghead Moslems and Islamics”) accountable for something they are not and should not be accountable for.

    Reminder: AlQaeda has so far slaughtered more Muslims than Westerners, and has lost a lot, if not, much of its support amongst Muslims.

    Ah, down with Fox News!

    “There are plenty of places to build mosques…”

    FYI, it’s a COMMUNIT CENTER, the mosque only makes up 2 stories of the 9-story building, and it’s there because in the area, there aren’t enough prayer rooms to cater to the Muslim population.

    More here:

    http://www.altmuslim.com/a/a/n/3866

    Hope this changes your mind!🙂

  9. Howie September 5, 2010 at 5:56 am #

    Drima, Abu and Zouf

    Wrong, wrong and wrong…

    I am not linking them to al Queda…where did I write that?

    If there is nothing political about it…then why so near the 9-11 site? Hmmm

    You guys don’t live in the US…I do… The Muslim activitist community has not been a bunch of nice guys…Take a look at the You Tube from the “debate” at the UC Irvine…it is a bit more representative…

    I have lived near and around the American Muslim community for years…The non-Arabs, e.g. Iranians, Indonesians etc have been quite cool…but the Arabs…nope. I have been there guys for years. I have heard the vicious statements and right to my face.

    So…no I do NOT trust these guys motives. I think it is a power move of “we are hear, fuck you, what you gonna do about”…it is a power move when there should be a move of reconciliation.

    So don’t be silly or put words in my mouth…No I don’t think the new community center is set to self-destruct in an atomic cloud taking Mahattan with it…

    You have evaded my point and my question…Why right there? Oh…to show their love and understanding for the people who died in 9-11?

    Ah….yes…that makes perfect sense.

    It is a 9-story building which is a symbolic middle finger raised up at the country that has given them a home here…

  10. Howie September 5, 2010 at 6:19 am #

    You know it is fascinating to read your remarks…again…where did I link these guys to terrorists…to al Queada? Where? Show me the quote. You disagree with me so you put words in my mouth or on my fingers…

    In fact, the little of the debate that I have heard…I have never heard anybody from the Right (maybe they have, but I have not heard it personally) call these guys terrorists or al Queda..

    I will say it again…CLEARLY…

    I believe this is NOT about reconciliation…I believe it is a political statement with, underneath it all, a message of “we don’t really care what you think or feel”

    So…maybe these are just a bunch of real nice guys, cum-ba-yah Lord…we are building bridges and you can be assured the place with be filled with Hebrew classes and an active Saturday morning minyan….if so…then I happily will be humbled and will admit to being wrong…

    Hey Abu…sing along with me

    Hine mah tov u mah na’im
    Shvet achim gam ya’chad…

    I just have big doubts.

  11. Zoxuf September 5, 2010 at 7:04 am #

    Howie,

    “If there is nothing political about it…then why so near the 9-11 site?”

    Why not? Shouldn’t Muslims that live in the area be allowed a place of worship?

    “You guys don’t live in the US…I do”

    So do I.

    “The Muslim activitist community has not been a bunch of nice guys…”

    Whether or not that is true it is irrelevant. Muslim’s are individuals and should be treated as such. What have these particular Muslims done to offend you?

    “I am not linking them to al Queda…where did I write that?”

    Fair enough but why should the Mosque be considered offensive unless you are holding all Muslims accountable for 911?

    “So…no I do NOT trust these guys motives.”

    Based on what? Nothing they have said so far shows any malicious intent. Your mistrust seems unjustified to me.

  12. Howie September 5, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    Zoxuf…

    Fair enough…I agree with part, but only part…

    There are 200 mosques in NY…did anybody protest them?

    There are thousands of mosques in the USA…I have never heard of even one protest against them…not one…

    There are other places this place could have been built..so yes…I am VERY suspicious of the motivation behind this particular location…

    It would be nice if the Muslim community…in particular, the ARAB community of the USA was just reaching out in honest love and brotherhood…I don’t trust them…nope.

    What do I base my distrust on? Well…let’s start with my experiences in college where I heard students from the Arab Student Units make comments like “we have to finish what Hitler could not”.

    During the last Gaza wars, my sister was in SF where Arabs were screaming “Jews to the gas chambers”…

    I have had Palestinian Americans tell me to my face “we hate Jews (Jews..not Israelis…JEWS)

    Our neighbor two houses up…has not talked to my wife in 20 years because she learned she was Israeli…

    This is just a drop in the bucket…

    Do I believe all Arabs in the USA think this way? No. But do I have ample reason for distrust…oh…you bet I do.

    No…I do NOT trust them.

  13. Howie September 5, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    And Zouxf…again…please don’t play with words. I never, ever said “they should not be allowed”…I clearly said they have the absolute right…

    But do I question and distrust their motivation?

    YES

  14. Zoxuf September 5, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    Howie,

    “There are thousands of mosques in the USA…I have never heard of even one protest against them…not one…”

    Since conservatives have made this a political issue a New York Muslim cab driver has been stabbed, and yes several mosque projects protested including one recently in Tennessee which later escalated into someone setting the construction equipment on fire.

    “There are other places this place could have been built..so yes…I am VERY suspicious of the motivation behind this particular location…”

    Why? What does them being Muslim and near the 9-11 site have to do with anything? Again it just doesn’t make sense unless you assume they support what happened on 9-11 despite all their comments to the contrary. Let’s judge them by their actions and not unsupported assumptions of hidden motives.

    “What do I base my distrust on? Well…let’s start with my experiences in college where I heard students from the Arab Student Units make comments like “we have to finish what Hitler could not …

    During the last Gaza wars, my sister was in SF where Arabs were screaming “Jews to the gas chambers”…

    I have had Palestinian Americans tell me to my face “we hate Jews (Jews..not Israelis…JEWS)

    Our neighbor two houses up…has not talked to my wife in 20 years because she learned she was Israeli”

    That may give you good reason to distrust those specific Muslims but not the ones behind the Park51 project.

    “Do I believe all Arabs in the USA think this way? No”

    That’s great but what will it take to convince you that the Park51 backers don’t think that way? Is their word not enough?

    “And Zouxf…again…please don’t play with words. I never, ever said “they should not be allowed”…I clearly said they have the absolute right…”

    Your right that was a mistake on my part, I apologize.

  15. Howie September 5, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    Zouxf…

    What would convince me?

    That is a very fair question…

    I will give that honest thought…but I guess the first thing would be…

    Why that particular location…why there?

    In terms of mosques being attacked or Muslims…that is pure, ugly shit…just like the Nazi symbols that were burned on the lawn of the Synagogue it go to and the windows that had been shot out…actions of human filth.

    But…yes…you and I can have a leveled headed discussion on this one. My mind is not made up…I would truly like to think this is a gesture of love…I just remain quite unconvinced.

  16. Zoxuf September 5, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    Howie,

    “Why that particular location…why there?”

    Let’s look at what they have to say on the subject.

    “Prior to purchasing our current facility at 45 Park Place, there were two mosques in lower Manhattan, although Park51 is not affiliated with either of these mosques. One was Masjid al-Farah, which could fit a maximum of approximately 65 people, and had to hold three or four separate prayer services on Fridays just to fit the crowds.

    The second mosque, at Warren Street, accommodated about 1,500 worshippers during Friday prayers – people had been praying on sidewalks because they had no room. They lost their space around May 2009. 



    We made the move to buy 45 Park Place in July 2009 in part to offset the loss of this space. Currently, our space at 45 Park Place accommodates around 450 people every Friday. We are also easily accessible from many different parts of Manhattan, Brooklyn, and Staten Island, which was an important consideration.”

    That seems perfectly reasonable to me. Does that sufficiently answer your question? You can find this and much more on the website Drima linked and at park51.org.

  17. Abu Sa'ar September 5, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    Drima –

    1) Democracy building in the Arab world is kind of like democracy building in a prison. It won’t end well. So yes, the support for (in the case of Israel) and the instigation of (in the case of USA) such experiments was a fucking awful idea. But how do you expect either to take responsibility for it? I mean, both are already propping up the two-bit dictatorship of PA.

    2) As much as I disagree with the religious fanatic settlers, this has nothing to do with Hamas or Gaza. Or, indeed, hatred towards Israelis and/or Jews. It’s a pretext (and an internal Israeli problem). From (official and unofficial) Palestinian POV, ALL of Israel is “occupied”, and all Jews must die. Nor has it anything to do with peace – that silly charade of talking to people who openly strive to genocide you and pretending the conflict is about a few rocky hilltops.

    3) The blockade of Gaza saves my personal life and health, and does the same for hundreds of thousands (if not millions) of other Israelis. It’s not “security”, it’s security. Giving a bunch of openly genocidal, totalitarian, fanatical maniacs who invest all their efforts towards killing me access to weapons is the definition of suicide. The other option for saving my life is turning Gaza into a crater.

    4) For some reason, I don’t worry so much about making Gazans hate me more. I mean, they never miss an opportunity to try to kill me. The moment they have ANY opening to kill, wound or harm a Jew in any way, shape or manner, they take it. If they could, they’d complete what Hitler started while continuing to deny the Holocaust. The way I see it, unless we kill every single one of them or wait a few centuries for their infatuation with genocide and fanaticism to wear off, there’s not much that can be done but contain them.

  18. Andrew Brehm September 7, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    I agree with Abu Sa’ar.

    Israel has to choose between the blockade and all-out war. There is no other option. It’s a mystery to me why Drima would prefer all-out war over the blockade. Or maybe he has decided to live in a fantasy world, I don’t know.

    Fact is also that Gaza remains one of the richest places of the region because it turns out that an inability to import weapons and cement by private companies doesn’t do much to influence living standards.

    I also cannot find anything in Bibi’s policies that would make him more aggressive or worse than previous Israeli governments. What exactly has he done that hurt so many people?

    Interestingly enough hatred is not caused by what actually happens. It doesn’t matter if Israel would bomb Gaza to bits, Gazans will never hate Israel for that.

    My German family’s house was bombed by the Americans and their land stolen by the Russians (and given to East-Germany). My parents lived through the Russian blockade of West-Berlin. I grew up in occupied West-Berlin with all the downsides that come with occupation. We had checkpoints and areas forbidden for anyone without American/British/French citizenship, and boy would they have killed us if we had fired rockets at them or our neighbours in the east.

    All of that happened to my family. But does anybody even think that I _hate_ Americans or even Russians???

    The Palestinians, even those in Gaza, did not live through worse than my German family in the 1940s and the Palestinians in the West-Bank did not endure anything that West-Berlin hasn’t likewise endured before 1990.

    On the other hand, I know many (by now) refugees from Sudan including Darfur. They went through much worse. But they don’t hate Arabs.

    That’s not where hatred comes from.

    Hatred comes from what people want to believe and war is the result of hatred. Not vice versa.

    Oh, and Drima, there is no “Palestinian land”. There will be once the PLO agrees to a peace treaty when they will receive land. But in the past and at the moment the “Palestinians” never ever had souvereignty over any land anywhere. Maybe Israel will give them land she took from Egypt and Jordan, maybe not. But until then it will be impossible for Israel to take “Palestinian land” for the same reason nobody can steal Gipsy land.

  19. Andrew Brehm September 7, 2010 at 6:43 pm #

    If it makes anyone feel any better I am totally in favour of giving land formerly owned by Jews until they fled Arab countries to Palestinians who feel that Israel stole their land. There should be enough of that for everyone.

  20. Andrew Brehm September 7, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    Forgot the 911 mosque…

    Totally in favour of it. Build it. I don’t quite see what the point is (it’s a commercial district and very few Muslims live there) but I don’t have an ideological problem with it. Why would I?

    The western left and right seem to have things worked out and according to them Muslims are either victims who cannot be held responsible for what they do or terrorists; basically everything except normal human beings.

    I do remember Nizo making a good point about the non-Muslim mosque supporters who never seem to speak up for Christians in the Muslim world, but all-in-all the entire discussion is useless. If a Muslim wants to build a mosque rather than blow himself up, New York is the place to do it.

  21. Howie September 8, 2010 at 3:57 am #

    Zouxf…

    He has the right…but I think it is a real bad idea:

    http://www.rr.com/news/topic/article/rr/9000/20647538/US_church_to_go_ahead_with_Sept_11_Quran_burning/1

  22. Zoxuf September 8, 2010 at 4:47 am #

    Howie,

    “He has the right…but I think it is a real bad idea”

    I agree but that is not a fair comparison to the park51 project. One is done out of spite and the other is not.

  23. Zoxuf September 8, 2010 at 5:05 am #

    Andrew,

    “I do remember Nizo making a good point about the non-Muslim mosque supporters who never seem to speak up for Christians in the Muslim world”

    I care about Christian rights in the Muslim world. They absolutely should have the same free speech afforded here. But it shouldn’t be surprising that people talk more about local issues than what is happening somewhere else. Especially when they feel that their first amendment rights are under threat.

  24. Howie September 8, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    Zouxf…

    Out of spite? I fully disagree. I think he does it out of hatred, bigotry and some wild, twisted up version of Christianity…

    And this is what I worry about with this project, as I have seen way too much of that very stuff coming out of the Muslim world, with a large touch of murderous violence…I have even asked Muslim friends, including a very close Darfuri friend…this is what he wrote me back:

    “I don’t know what’s their motives either. They might be right or wrong.
    All I know was how it such sensitive issue for many.”

    So…they could really be a bunch of Boy Scouts and marvelous folks…though I think even Yehuda Pearl…Daniel’s dad was not too excited about this project and there could not be a bigger supporter of dialouge with the Muslim world…

    My point is I just don’t trust them, I don’t…I am on the fence about the project because I do like the CONCEPT…but something seems very wrong to me here…

    I won’t lie…I don’t trust them. I did not use the word hate, or want to kill, as Arabs have done towards me more than once…I just don’t trust them.

  25. Zoxuf September 8, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    Howie,

    “Out of spite? I fully disagree. I think he does it out of hatred, bigotry and some wild, twisted up version of Christianity…”

    Then surely you would agree that it is not a fair comparison to a group that has shown no such hatred.

    “And this is what I worry about with this project, as I have seen way too much of that very stuff coming out of the Muslim world, with a large touch of murderous violence…”

    Criticizing the Quran or various types of Muslim thought would be one thing but we are talking about individuals here. We are just repeating ourselves at this point. I have nothing else to add so I will end by once again saying that I do not think it is fair for you to judge them based on the actions of others.

  26. Andrew Brehm September 8, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    Zoxuf,

    I didn’t mean you specifically. However, I do feel that Muslims outside the US who feel strongly about the NY mosque (and I don’t know how many do) should feel as strongly about churches in Muslim countries.

  27. Howie September 8, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    Zouxf…

    And I will end with this…

    Of COURSE I judge them by the actions of others…as they represent others. I don’t solely judge them on that basis…it is just one element.

    As I said…I am ambivalent about this one…I don’t know who “they” are…but I have heard many of their supporters might be a bit less than above board…I admittedly don’t know enough and no…I am not going to do extensive research on the subject.

    But if “the Muslim world” is ready to go a bit more democratic and mainstream and drop a horrible image they have developed for themselves…then best have a thick skin and be ready for accountability, criticism, sarcasm, irony, unfair accusations, and on and on.

    You are a good representative…you don’t over-react and you make smart and reasonable arguments…

    Would love to see millions more like you speaking up.

  28. Lynn September 11, 2010 at 6:14 am #

    I didn’t have a problem with Park 51, until now that is. Now it sounds kind of like blackmail. He agrees that it was a bad idea but now it will be an issue of ‘national security’ if they don’t get their mosque there? Oh HELL no! Spend your time and efforts trying to educate your people on the definition of PEACE so that petty shit like the placement of a mosque that does not even involve them doesn’t send them off on murderous suicide missions! Work on THAT and maybe people will start trusting Muslims.

    And Drima, WTH? Are you seriously blaming the US or anyone who encouraged their democratic process for the fact that the Palestinians CHOSE terrorists as their leaders? They have the freedom to make their own decisions but they also have the freedom to enjoy the repercussions of their choices. THAT’S a good lesson for them. Choose peace and you will get peace.

  29. Beth September 12, 2010 at 12:25 am #

    Just to lighten things a bit – Ramadan Road Trip.

    I do agree with Howie and Lynne, though. This Rauf seems a little suspect to many of us. The Cordova Initiative
    IS very near Ground Zero.

  30. Eva, Canada September 14, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    Re: Mosque on Ground Zero

    What really saddens me is the fact that Muslim sensitivies and outrages are always considered by Westerns. Heaven forbid that those tender souls should be offended! For once, the Muslims are asked to respect the sensibilities of non-Muslims and what we get? Indignation and condemnation and, of course, outrage! You call that fair?

  31. Raschied Britannica September 16, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    There was an Islamic prayer room on floor 14 of the South Tower, and the Muslims that used it died like every other American in the Towers:

    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/09/11/nyregion/11religion.html?_r=1&src=twt&twt=nytimes

  32. Rihab September 23, 2010 at 2:18 am #

    I don’t think Americans are overreacting when they express some reservation or even anger at the building of a mosque on ground zero, and I think it was an extremely provocative action on the part of Muslim Americans – I mean, seriously, whoever thought up this idea, did he/she really have no idea what type of reaction it would garner?? You really don’t have to be a rocket scientist to logically deduce that planning to build a mosque on ground zero would make a lot of Americans at the very least uncomfortable with the idea.

    Yes, Muslim Americans have the right to build a mosque wherever the hell they want to but using a bit of common sense and sensitivity never hurt anyone. The big question in my mind is “Why Ground Zero?”, the USA is virtually an entire continent on its own, and there’s no where else suitable to build a mosque????? As someone somewhere said, building a Japanese Cultural Centre in the middle of Pearl Harbour would be considered insensitive/inappropriate – in the same way building a mosque on Ground Zero is insensitive and inappropriate. And as one of the commentators here suggested why not build a synagogue in Sabra and Shatila??

    Tolerance is needed, as is sensitivity and common sense.

  33. Zoxuf September 23, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    @Rihab

    But it is not on “ground zero” and it is not really a mosque. It is a community center with a Muslim prayer room just like the one that was a part of the south tower. They are being vilified for simply being Muslim in lower Manhattan.

  34. Rihab September 25, 2010 at 3:37 am #

    Zoxuf,

    They’re not being vilified, since they haven’t been prevented from building a “community centre” (which is more than I can say for several Muslim countries which to this day ban the building of churches & synagogues e.g…. pick a Gulf a country). However, it doesn’t change the fact that this was a plain “in your face” provocative move, which yes they are free to do but it’s not in keeping with trying to maintain cross-cultural understanding. They knew they would be hitting a raw nerve so there’s no need to complain about the reaction generated – unless they are complete idiots who can’t foresee the impact of their decisions.

  35. Zoxuf September 25, 2010 at 7:58 am #

    @Rihab

    Being vilified and being prevented from expressing their constitutional rights are two different things. There is nothing the opponents can legally do to stop it short of changing the constitution. Why do you assume it was an “in your face” move? I doubt they expected this sort of reaction, or that most people would have even cared if it had not been made into a political issue by some conservatives. Speaking of foreseeing the impacts of our decisions, how do you think making Muslims feel unwelcome in New York will affect our fight against extremism? You know that whole winning over hearts and minds thing…

  36. Ahmad al-Safawi December 3, 2010 at 1:36 am #

    Guys;

    “They have the right to, but they should have enough consideration and empathy not to do it”…
    …”They have the right to do it, and as such, nobody can object to them doing it”.

    Is this not ringing any bells?

    As an arab muslim living in Denmark, it does! Was this not what the cartoon crisis was all about? “We have the right to insult the Islamic Prophet, so we should do it, as our right to do so i threatened”. Change “insult the Islamic Prophet” with “build a mosque”.

    The funny part is that most of the conservatives back then would jump up and down in defense of the cartoonists’ right to insult whoever they like and talking about freedom and guarding their rights etc. – now, the same guys argue that muslims should consider the feelings of the americans while exercising their rights!

    Similarly, most of the people who back then agreed and supported us muslims against that kind of insults, now argue that the N.Y. muslims are just practising their right and should not be prevented from doing so, regardless of the feelings of the american nation.

    At least, be consistent.

    I personally agree that the N.Y. muslims have the right do build a mosque and should not be prevented by law from doing so. But I also see the intiative as provocative, and thus oppose it.

    Which is also how i feel about the cartoons.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Netanyahu, the So-Called Ground Zero Mosque, and Why Eid Should Be Canceled this Year — The Sudanese Thinker - September 1, 2010

    […] Eid Is Cancelled This Year by the second best blogger in the Sudanese blogosphere, the one and only, Sudanese […]

Leave a Reply

