Blogging Offline

12 Apr

The Sudanese Optimist, like Al jazeera and natural gas, is now located in Qatar. I realized that I have not been updating my blog, to the extent that I received a frantic email asking why my FAQ states I’m 23 yet still in college? Fear not dear readers, I am not a senior citizen college student. I have graduated back in 2009 and I am now a superstar career girl working for…emmm….okay enough personal information.

The move to Qatar proved to be a fantastic decision–I could not be happier to have left the United States after so many years there. I have been more connected to world events living here than I have ever been back in the US, and even when I was much more active in the social media world. I became even more acutely aware of how disconnected the US is when I spent the month of March there, and felt as if I’m receiving trickles of the news rather than the whole story, and biased trickles at that. Okay, I have to admit, I was vacationing in the US and might have tuned out a lot of information, but still… My hope is, if you’re in the US, please diversify your news sources heavily, and now that the NYT has shown it’s true jewish colors (i kid) and began charging online readers, there’s more reason to seek news concerning issues outside the US, from sources outside the US. Common sense you say? Just look at all the ignorant comments found in unfortunate abundance all over the internet. Also, if you can stomach it, check Twitter’s trending topics and you’ll see that Bieber Fever easily out-trends important world events, because the Biebs and Rebecca Black receive more airtime than current events. Unless you auto-tune the news, then the US is all about the Zenga Zenga guy.

So yes, The Sudanese Optimist is now in Doha, Qatar enjoying the heat, the bad customer service, and the occasional cup of Karak. Most importantly though, I am enjoying “blogging offline” which is discussing issues that I normally would have blogged about, directly with the residents of Qatar. Some of the smartest and most interesting young Sudanese people reside in Doha, and there is a constant influx of some of the most influential people to the city. I’m happy to have been blogging offline, but will definitely be sharing what is worth sharing with the rest of the world through this blog, especially that I feel, as a blogger, that I am lucky to be in the right spot, at the right time.

*Note: The Sudanese Optimist does not drive a Land Cruiser.

6 Responses to “Blogging Offline”

  1. Jamila El-Gizuli April 12, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    Thanks for making me a tad bit encouragingly jealous! Good luck🙂

  2. sudaneseoptimist April 13, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    Thanks Jamila! Come visit Doha😉

  3. simon May 26, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    I always imagined you were a man in a white khamis and turban doing the sword dance somewhere in Khartoum

  4. sudaneseoptimist June 22, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    That’s hilarious. In contrast, I’m a 23 year old female in heels sipping coffee at my office and updating this blog😉

  5. trendingrightnow September 20, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    Thansk Jamilia, you are right in making a point that “The Sudanese Optimist does not drive a Land Cruiser”. Lolz

  6. imamz March 9, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    thank mr.

Leave a Reply

